

# Llandovery RFC 2nd XV Squad Picture 1990/91 Courtesy Wyn Williams



• SECONDS' SUCCESS ... Llandovery RFC's second team backed up the success of the Heineken League side with a couple of excellent achievements of their own. They beat Llanybydder to win the Towy Ford Llanelli and District Cup and Tregaron to win the Lady Howard president's cup.

Back: Wyn Morgan, Eurig Evans, Hywel Jones, Huw Evans, Carwyn Jones, Dafydd Thomas, Phillip Morgan, John Hughes, Eifion Evans Front: Huw Morgans, Huw Protheroe, Eirian Jones, Martin Pritchard, Richard Morgan, Stuart Doel



## Llandovery RFC 2nd XV Squad Picture 1990/91 Courtesy Wyn Williams

#### Towy Ford Cup Final v Llanybydder at Cae Carwyn James, Cefneithin, 20 April 1991

A brace of tries by Llandovery number eight Huw Protheroe gave the Drovers' second string an exciting win over Llanybydder in the final of the Llanelli and District Towy Ford Cup.

This was the first time Llandovery had won the cup and they did it in style by beating the holders at Cae Carwyn James, Cefneithin. Full back Hywel Jones added a conversion and penalty to Protheroe's tries.

#### The team for the Final

(shown in the photo above, and which matches the team printed in the match pogramme):

Hywel Jones, Hugh Morgans, Richard Morgan, Eirian Jones (capt), Martin Pritchard Carwyn Jones, Stuart Doel

Eifion Evans, Wyn Morgan, Eurig Evans Dafydd Thomas, Phil Morgan John Hughes, Hugh Evans, 8 Huw Protheroe

Subs: Ray James, Alun Evans, Eifion Hughes (it is not known if any subs were used)

### The games leading to the Final

20.1.91 Pontyberem 6, Llandovery 21
26.1.91 Lampeter 0, Llandovery 72
23.2.91 Llandovery 26, Hendy 3
23.3.91 Llandovery 15, Tregaron 3
30.3.91 (played at Llanybydder) Llandovery 12, Tumble 0