Presentations 2012-13

On Saturday 8 June 2013 Llandovery RFC held the annual Players’ Award Dinner at Church Bank

Guest of honour was Rhodri Gomer Davies. Rhodri played 19 times for the Drovers during the early 2000s, at the start of his senior career. He was capped from Wales Under 16s to Under 21s and for Wales 7s, and has played professional rugby for a number of teams, including Northampton Saints and the Scarlets and Newport Gwent Dragons regions. He was forced to retire from playing rugby in 2011 due to injury, and is now seen regularly on S4C as a rugby match commentator..

The following Awards were presented by Rhodri Gomer Davies:

Youth XV Player of the Year – Daniel Lewis

Youth XV Players Player of the Year – Richie Elliott

Athletic XV Player of the Year – Andrew Owens

1st XV Player of the Year, 1st XV Players’ Player of the Year, and Supporters’ Player of the Year all awarded to Jack Roberts

Most tries scored for 1st XV – Chris Knight, collected on his behalf by Lee Rees

1st XV Most Improved Player – Llewelyn Jones, collected on his behalf by Shaun Jones

Player Clubman of the Year – Wyn Jones

Note: Club Ambassador of the Year was Emyr Phillips, awarded prior to the Dinner since Emyr is in Japan as a member of the Wales team

Clubman of the Year – Gareth Salt

Outstanding Services to the Club – The Rugby Management, collected on their behalf by 1st XV coaches Lyndon Lewis and Euros Evans

Special Award – Andrew Jones, who has made over 500 appearances for the Drovers, was presented with a blazer embroidered to record this feat

Special Award – Rob Walters, who retired from playing at the end of this season, was presented with a specially drawn caricature commemorating his 300-plus games for the club

Aberavon 5 4 0 1 138 73 20
Llandovery 5 4 0 1 124 70 19
Carmarthen Quins 5 3 0 2 99 92 13
Swansea 5 2 0 3 113 101 10
Bridgend Ravens 5 2 0 3 93 134 8
Llanelli 5 0 0 5 86 183 3