History – Award Winners Presentations 2014-15

On 2 May 2015 Llandovery RFC held its annual Players’ Award ceremony at Church Bank.

Guest of honour for the presentations was Emyr Phillips, who came up through the Junior and Senior ranks of the Drovers and is now of Scarlets and Wales.

Awards presented by Emyr were:

Youth XV Players’ Player of the Year – Iwan Davies

Youth XV Player of the Year – Daniel Lewis

Player Clubman of the Year – Luke Lewis

Club Ambassador of the Year – Rhodri Davies (awarded jointly with Adam Warren)

Clubman of the Year – Robin Barlow

Outstanding Services to the Club – Neville Hughes (right) and Eifion Jones (left), Coach and Team Manager of the Drovers Youth team, who both retire this year, and pictured with their specially drawn caricatures

Special Award – Lyndon Lewis who has moved on after 11 years as the assistant coach and head coach, was presented with a specially drawn caricature, flanked by club chairman Handel Davies and Emyr Phillips

After the presentations Youth players gathered with Neville and Eifion for an end-of-era group picture

Awards presented subsequent to the awards evening

In a post-match ceremony in September 2015 four further awards were presented by Neville Morgan, one of a select band of players who helped re-form the club after the war and to lay the foundations for the Drovers’ success ever since.

1st XV Players’ Player of the Year, and Supporters’ Player of the Year – both awarded to Lee Rees 

1st XV Most Improved Player – Rhodri Jones

Aaron Warren collects the Club Ambassador of the Year award on behalf of brother Adam Warren (awarded jointly with Rhodri Davies)

Additional awards, made to players who were unable to be present at either event, were:

1st XV Player of the Year – James Garland

Most tries scored for 1st XV – Richard Williams


Aberavon 5 4 0 1 138 73 20
Llandovery 5 4 0 1 124 70 19
Carmarthen Quins 5 3 0 2 99 92 13
Swansea 5 2 0 3 113 101 10
Bridgend Ravens 5 2 0 3 93 134 8
Llanelli 5 0 0 5 86 183 3